Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

YouTube Twitter Facebook

Awards and Recognition: Distinguished Alumni Award 2002

The College of Arts & Sciences Alumni Association honored Ernest R. Davidson, Ph.D. as its 2002 Distinguished Alumni. The award was presented by Dean Kumble R. Subbaswamy at the College of Arts & Sciences Annual Recognition Banquet on Friday, October 25, 2002.

Professor Ernest R. Davidson, Ph.D.

Professor Davidson received his B.S. from Rose Polytechnic Institute in 1958 and his Ph.D. in Chemistry from Indiana University in 1961. He was an NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Wisconsin and joined the faculty of the University of Washington. He returned to Indiana University in 1984. He is a Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, the Robert and Marjorie Mann Chair of Computational Quantum Chemistry and a fellow of the National Academy of Sciences. He received the 2002 President's National Medal of Science at a White House ceremony on May 29, 2002 and was the first IU scientist to be awarded this top honor. Professor Davidson is also the first IU faculty member to receive the Distinguished Alumni Award.