The College Magazine - Summer 2001


  • James Brink, a senior from Sylvania, Ohio, has been awarded the highly competitive and very prestigious Churchill Scholarship by the Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States. Brink graduated in May with a degree with honors in mathematics, computer science, and cognitive science. He will spend the 2001-02 academic year in Churchill College, Cambridge University, England. "It's the opportunity of a lifetime," Brink said. "I'm thrilled to have the chance to live in England and study at one of the world's most respected academic institutions. I can't express my gratitude enough to all my friends, family, and professors who have helped make this possible."

  • Philip Roessler, at right above, has been named to the 12th annual USA Today All-USA Academic First Team. Philip graduated in May with a political science major and minors in biology and economics. He was one of 20 selected from 682 nominees. Roessler wrote an article, "Splendor in the Grassroots," about his experiences in Kenya for the winter 2001 issue of The College. He came to IU from Middletown, Md.

  • Three College juniors have been named Chancellor's Scholars. Summer Johnson in the Individualized Major Program, Jonathan Lipnick in religious studies and Jewish studies, and Robert Tayon Jr. in chemistry were chosen because of academic excellence.
  • The prestigious John H. Edwards Fellowship, based on citizenship, character, public service, and scholastic achievement, was awarded by President Myles Brand to three College graduate students: Julie L. Thomas and John V. Tarpley, both in the Department of History, and Michael S. McLennan in linguistics and cognitive science.

  • The Adviser of the Year Award was inaugurated only last year. This spring the College announced co-winners: MaryLou Hosek in the Department of Sociology and Mary Kay Rothert in the Department of English. They both contribute greatly to the quality of students' academic and intellectual life in their departments and in the university.

  • Professors Carolyn Calloway-Thomas in the Department of Communication and Culture and Dennis Rome in Afro-American studies have been named Carnegie Scholars. They will work together to invent and share new conceptual models for teaching.

  • Kevin Glowacki, assistant professor of classical studies, has been recognized by the Archaeological Institute of America with its 2000-01 Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Training. Nominations are made by a candidate's colleagues and students, and the final selection is made by a national committee. In announcing the award, the institute said, "Professor Glowacki was cited for his work developing a strong undergraduate program in classical art and archaeology at Indiana University, his innovative use of instructional technology and the Internet, and his passion and commitment to students." Glowacki teaches a variety of courses on Aegean, Greek, and Roman archaeology, including an on-site course on the monuments of ancient Athens, offered for the first time last summer.

  • Professor Milos Novotny of chemistry will receive the 2001 Eastern Analytical Symposium Award for outstanding achievements in the field of analytical chemistry. The award will be presented during a half-day symposium in Novotny's honor next fall.

  • Professor Victor Viola is the recipient of the 2000 Tracy M. Sonneborn Award, established to honor an IU professor who has achieved special distinction as a teacher and scholar. Viola has long been considered one of the world's leading nuclear chemists. His research has broken new ground in investigating the connection between nuclear phenomena and astrophysics.

    Mary Kay Rother, one of two winners of the College's Advisor of the Year Award for 2000, devotes much of her time to conferring with students like Michael Drummond, who received his BA in English in May.

  • A.B. Assensoh, professor of Afro-American studies, received the College's James P. Holland Award for Exemplary Teaching and Service to Students. The award is named in memory of a late IU biology professor who was beloved for his skill and dedication as a teacher and mentor.

  • Leah Savion, assistant professor of philosophy, received the first annual Associate Instructor Quality Enhancement Award, given to recognize a faculty member who has made exceptional contributions to the development of graduate student AIs as teachers. Savion has taught graduate students about college teaching for the past 12 years and is widely known for her presentations to faculty, AI groups, and departments at IU and other universities.
  • The College Magazine - Summer 2001 : page's bottom template
    IU HomePage IUB HomePage College Homepage IU Alumni Association IU Foundation

    The College of Arts and Sciences Homepage