Indiana University Bloomington
The College of Arts and Sciences - Dean's Faculty and Staff Newsletter
Campus Shots - Spring
  April, 2011

David ZaretDear Colleagues,

We have so much to celebrate at this time of year; four faculty members in the College were elevated to distinguished rank: Professor of Mathematics Michael J. Larsen, Professor of Political Science William R. Thomson, Professor of Biology Curtis M. Lively, and Professor Geoffrey C. Fox, Physics.  Professor John Hanson, Department of History, received the 2011 IU John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies.  Jill Robinson, senior lecturer in Chemistry, received the 2011 IU President’s Award for Teaching. And both 2011 Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Awards went to doctoral students in the College, Emily A. Bowman (Sociology) and Michael T. Mosier (Spanish and Portuguese).
Heartiest congratulations to Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences Olaf Sporns,  Professor of English George Hutchinson, and Maurice Manning, poet and associate professor of English, on being named 2011 Fellows of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

This will be the final faculty-staff newsletter for the 2010-2011 academic year.  Faculty and staff will continue to receive regular updates from the Themester office over the summer months.

All best,

David Zaret
Interim Dean, IU College of Arts and Sciences

Congratulations to all professors being honored at this year's annual event for retiring faculty
Steen Anderson (Statistics, Mathematics)
Sarah Burns (History or Art, American Studies)
Wendy Calman (Fine Arts)
Henry R. Cooper (Slavic Languages and Literatures, Comparative Literature)
Thomas M. Duffy (Cognitive Science)
Ronald Feldstein (Slavic Languages and Literatures) James L. Franklin (Classical Studies, History of Art)
Mary Lee Luskin (Criminal Justice)
Thomas J. Mathiesen (Near Eastern Languages and Cultures, History and Philosophy of Science)
Elizabeth McCrea (Speech and Hearing Sciences)  Eugene (Bill) McGregor (Political Sciences)
Charles S. Parmenter (Chemistry)
Dennis Senchuk (Philosophy)
Paul Spade (Philosophy)
Steven Stowe (History, American Studies)
The College in the news

In this Newsletter

The faculty and staff e-newsletter comes out from August through April.  Please send all newsletter contributions to Jocelyn Bowie,
IU IU Home | IU Bloomington | College Home | Comments
Copyright 2011, The Trustees of Indiana University | Copyright Complaints