Faculty News

Biology + Photography

Justin Kumar is a professor of Biology who combines science and photography to study cell specification, fly eyes, and more. By integrating art and science in his work, Kumar is conducting better research and passing these skills on to his students.

Read more

Expanding Horizons

From childhood on, the College’s new executive dean knew he was a scientist. Now schooled in many disciplines, he brings a deep commitment to faculty and students to his new role.

Read more

A Recipe for Action

As director of the IU Food Institute, Carl Ipsen challenges us all to get real.

Read more

Finding the Extraordinary in the Ordinary

Biologist Ellen Ketterson admires resilience. And she believes we can learn a lot about it from a common songbird.

Read more

Both Sides Now

English professor Ivan Kreilkamp walks both sides of the animal/human, high culture/popular culture divide.

Read more

Seeing Human

Art historian Bárbaro Martínez-Ruiz studies the rich visual culture of the ancient Kongo kingdom, uncovering beauty, resiliency, and identity.

Read more

Awards & Honors

Caroline Jarrold, Class of 1948 Herman B Wells Endowed Professor of Chemistry and department chair, was awarded the 2020 Frances P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal by the American Chemical Society. This award was established in 1936 and recognizes “distinguished service to chemistry by women chemists.”

Mary Murphy, professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, and Megan Thielges, associate professor of Chemistry, were both awarded the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). According to the official White House press release, “The PECASE is the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government to outstanding scientists and engineers who are beginning their independent research careers and who show exceptional promise for leadership in science and technology.”

Five faculty members have been awarded College of Arts and Sciences’ 2019 David and Cheryl Morley Teaching Awards.  Kimberly Geeslin, professor of Spanish and Portuguese, received the James P. Holland Teaching Award for Exemplary Teaching and Service to Students; Amy Berndtson, senior lecturer in Biology, received the Career Distinguished Teaching Award (Non-Tenure Track) in honor of Kathy O. Smith, Kelly Berkson, assistant professor of Linguistics, received the Early Career Teaching Excellence Award; and Michael Manzella and Megan Murphy, lecturers in Biology, received the ASURE Teacher of the Year Award.

Elizabeth Dunn, professor of Geography and International Studies, was awarded a 2019 IU President's International Research Award. Her research examines how countries and localities develop and manage refugee arrival infrastructure.

Sumit Ganguly, a Distinguished Professor and the Rabindranath Tagore Professor of Political Science, was awarded a 2019 IU President's International Research Award. His research will support the creation of new scholarly work and an author’s conference for the Oxford Handbook of Indian Politics.

Faculty in the news

Ellen Wu, associate professor of History, was quoted in the New York Times discussing the model minority stereotype and its role in the campaigns of Asian-American party candidates.

An interdisciplinary team of College faculty along with colleagues from across IU campuses and schools published a statewide survey commissioned as part of the Indiana University Prepared for Environmental Change Grand Challenge. The survey offers state-specific insights on public attitudes related to climate change.

Jessica McCrory Calarco, assistant professor of Sociology, was quoted in The Atlantic article “The Underlying Messages That Screen-Time Recommendations Send Parents.”

A paper coauthored by Youngjoo Cha, associate professor of Sociology, was referenced in The New York Times article “Women did everything right. Then work got 'greedy.'

New grants

From the National Institute of Mental Health to Olaf Sporns in Psychological and Brain Sciences for CRCNS: Macaque Cortex Neuronal Network Dynamics related to Cognition and Behavior.

From the U.S. Department of Energy to Phil Richerme, Gerardo Ortiz, and Babak Seradjeh in Physics for An Ion-Trap Quantum Simulator for Exotic 2D Materials.

From the National Institute of General Medical Sciences to Matthew L. Bochman in Molllecular and Cellular Biochemistry for DNA helicases and associated factors in genome stability.

From the John Templeton Foundation to Armin Moczek in Biology for Agency in living systems: How organisms actively generate adaptation, resilience and innovation at multiple levels of organization.

From the National Institute of General Medical Sciences to Brian Calvi in Biology for Polyploid cell cycle regulation and genome instability.

From the National Institute of Health’s Office of the Director to Kevin Cook, Thomas Kaufman, Annette Parks, Cale Whitworth, and Sam Zheng in Biology for the Bloomington Drosophila Stock Center at Indiana University.

From the National Institute of General Medical Sciences to Jared Lewis in Chemistry for Directed Evolution of Halogenases for Small Molecule Functionalization.

From the National Science Foundation to M. Kevin Brown, Silas Cook, Amar Flood, Nicola Pohl, and Jeremy Smith in Chemistry for MRI: Acquisition of a 500 MHz State-of-the-Art Spectrometer with Cryoprobe and Autosampler.

From the National Science Foundation to Srinivasan Iyengar, Amr Sabry, and Jeremy Smith in Chemistry, and Phil Richerme in Physics for QII-TAQS: Simulating Entangled Quantum Chemical Abstract Machines.

From the National Science Foundation to Eduardo Izquierdo in Cognitive Science for CAREER: From Connectome to Behavior: Computational Models of Multifunctional Neural Circuits in C. elegans.

From the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development to Andrew Halpern-Manners and Jane McLeod in Sociology for College and Beyond for Young Adults on the Spectrum.