Academic Honors

Degrees with distinction

The College recognizes outstanding academic performance by awarding bachelor’s degrees with three levels of distinction: distinction, high distinction, and highest distinction.

Minimum GPAs are 3.7 for distinction, 3.8 for high distinction, and 3.9 for highest distinction. You must have a minimum of 60 graded credit hours at IU to be considered for a degree with distinction.

Phi Beta Kappa

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious national academic honor society in the United States. Election to Phi Beta Kappa is the highest honor that can be conferred on an undergraduate in the liberal arts and sciences.

IU's chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Gamma of Indiana, was established in 1911. Twice each year, faculty electors who are also Phi Beta Kappa members review the academic records of the College's senior degree candidates and recent bachelor's degree recipients and elect students to membership in Phi Beta Kappa.

Learn about IU's chapter of Phi Beta Kappa

Campuswide honors and distinctions

Hutton Honors College

IU's most accomplished undergraduates, including students in the College of Arts and Sciences, are invited to enter the Hutton Honors College, which offers special opportunities for high-achieving students.

Learn about the Hutton Honors College